Still writing…

Well, it’s been such a long time since my last blog post that WordPress has changed its editor, and things looks a little differently on the inside of this here bloggy place. I have a good excuse for not blogging, though. Really, I do. I’ve been Doing All the Things, including teaching two Music Appreciation classes at the technical college (one of which is a “short session” class, which means we meet for three hours every Tuesday and Thursday, which also means the final for that class is very soon, which necessarily means the class will be over soon), running around at the church/doing church-y work things, and teaching the children how to play piano.

I have also been Writing a Dissertation. Yes, I know I have been doing this activity in one form or another for 800 a few years, and yes, I know that I have lied said here several times that I might be close to finishing. BUT WAIT, this time, I like, sorta, really mean it. Seriously.

The chapters in their nearly completed form. The files are titled following a naming practice developed approximately four years ago, and i decided to be consistent. Don't judge.

The first five chapters in their (mostly) completed form. The files are titled following a naming practice developed approximately four years ago, and I decided to be consistent. Don’t judge.

I’m working on a conclusion/last chapter. I have been working on this conclusion for a couple of weeks now, and have made very little progress in actually finishing it. But I at least have five other chapters that are ready to go. When/if the conclusion is finished, all the many pages and chapters will head off to Advisor, and then off to Committee-land. Apparently, after that, I have to schedule my required snake fight/defense. And then, maybe then, if I survive, I will be Finished.1 

I know lots of people are Busy. I know other people have to deal with much harder things in life than I do. I know many of my friends have much more challenging issues to address on a daily basis. But I also know that my brain has been full these past few weeks; and I know that I feel like I’ve been doing most of the things in my life just barely good enough. Maybe that’s part of being an Old Lady, but I can only hope that getting these danged last pages written will change some of that in the very near future!


1. OK, so there’s a few appendices that I need to work on, the bibliography to compile and format, and then the general grad school formatting stuff, too. But after THAT, really, I think I’ll be finished.

Leave a Reply

