Christmas vacation so far…

After much procrastinating, days ago I sent Advisor another (slightly incomplete) chapter draft… and left the state. I’m back at my old Kentucky home for a few days, and have had nary a thought of the dissertation.1 Of course, this trip home has been a little/a lot sad, and although Christmas was lovely, at times it was also sad. We did something totally different and ate our Christmas dinner at a Chinese buffet, which actually made me pretty happy.

In any event, I have spent time with family, read a couple of novels, caught up with friends, and well, done a great deal of nothing….

For example, I met a new game.

IMG_6680

I like this game a lot.2 The design is so lovely – simple and clean – and the game itself is incredibly simple… so of course, I’m hooked. I fear our relationship has been doomed from the start (much like this one), but I’ll enjoy the time we have together on vacation.

I’ve seen quite a few basketball games.

I watched the Very Tall Nephew play a couple of games, one of Younger Nephew’s games, their school’s girls team game, and a UK Hoops (the women’s basketball team) game. Since much of the men’s Kentucky-Louisville game happened during one of the Very Tall Nephew’s game, I watched some of that game on my phone.3 

Finally, I’ve been working on a really difficult 1000-piece puzzle.

IMG_6681

The Very Tall Nephew’s girlfriend gave this puzzle to Younger Nephew, but it has been claimed primarily by me and the VTN’s girlfriend (and her sister).4 I have every intention of completing it before leaving the state.

Clearly, I need to stop typing and get back to Dots, or the puzzle, or maybe watching some basketball, so happy sixth day of Christmas, y’all!


1. This does not take into account the requisite Dissertation Guilt. See this comic.
2. Apparently, I’m not the only one, according to this article by Craig Kannalley.
3. OBVIOUSLY, I paid attention to the Very Tall Nephew’s game, too, although it helped greatly that his team was winning by many points for the entire game.
4. The puzzle is a Coke bottle, but the actual image is made up of thousands of tiny pictures of Coke related things.

Leave a Reply

