I fail! I win! (again)

laundry3

California Closets – hopefully I’ll end up with more than one organized shelf…

I mentioned in a previous post that I’m a WINNER, thanks to a grand opening contest from Off Broadway Shoe Warehouse. My prize is a “closet solution” from California Closets up to a certain amount of money.1 I signed the legal paperwork agreeing to accept the prize (and pay the requisite taxes, of course), so now I’m waiting for my California Closets consultant to contact me to set up an appointment.

The impending professional organization consultation has motivated me to do a bit of pre-emptive cleaning out, and I took a few boxes of clothing and various other items to the Habitat ReStore today. Plus, an “organizing solution” couldn’t come at a better time, since I currently have a roommate, which means I had to move shoes Stuff from my walk-in closet (aka spare bedroom) in to my bedroom.

In the losing category, I’ve been applying for academic jobs, and I received my first official rejection email.2 Let’s be clear here: I fully expect to not get offered an academic job for 2014-2015 (yes, the whole academic job process is long and drawn out and quite unlike the real world). In fact, I have not even emotionally prepared for the possibility of being offered a job and subsequently leaving Athens. Nevertheless, the first rejection email (of many, I’m sure) seems worthy of mention. I didn’t really want to move to Kalamazoo anyway.

______

1. Based upon this company’s website and likely price points, it’s possible that I will receive a three-shelf bookcase for my winnings.
2. Academics who wish to teach at the college level are generally at the whim of the academic job market. That is, getting a job requires a match of schools needing a musicologist, particularly one who specializes in a particular area or time period, and a location that the prospective employee would be willing to move (because it’s generally not the place one earns his or her PhD)… and no, there really aren’t that many, and yes, it actually works out sometimes (I think).

Leave a Reply

