Guitar Slide Sunday and Other Things

Let’s agree that my absence here at the blog has to do with the massive amounts of work I’ve been doing on my dissertation. Whether that is true or not happens to be another story, but for now, let’s just agree on the “working on dissertation” premise.

Sunday, we did this song again, and the bass slides made me happy, as always, and our lead guitar player played WITH a slide on “How He Loves,” which was awesome. Also, Worship Pastor sang some oh’s (and/or whoa’s) in one of my favorite songs that we do (this link is to a “remixed” version of the song; the oh’s/whoa’s begin at 2:04).1 This was exciting as I’m quite a fan of nonsense syllables used judiciously in songs.

On Saturday night, I saw a solo Father John Misty (aka J. Tillman) show. He also is a fan of oh's, ooo's, and whoa's based upon his songwriting.

On Saturday night, I saw a solo Father John Misty (aka J. Tillman) show. He also is a fan of oh’s, ooo’s, and whoa’s based upon his songwriting.

In other news, I found a great excuse to buy new shoes. I have the privilege of representing my alma mater at the investiture of UGA’s 22nd president in a couple of weeks, so obviously I need new shoes to go with my regalia. Conveniently enough, an Off Broadway Shoe Warehouse opened nearby and had their grand opening this past weekend. I went, found some shoes that will suffice (I’m still looking for a better option), and signed up for a few drawings. As it turns out, I’M A WINNER. I received an email saying someone from a closet/organizing place would be in touch with me about a shoe closet makeover. I have no idea what this entails or how it will work, but for now, I’M A WINNER.2

Finally, college basketball is back, and the newest version of the Kentucky Wildcats looks to be special. Also, Georgia-Florida is upon us. Go Sports! I hope we win.

______

1. Also, I have a “no reading internet comments” policy in my life that I try very hard to follow, and I’m guessing you should too when it comes to that video, well, because the internet, and also because of this.
2. Can we also acknowledge the fact, that despite the comments thing mentioned in note 1 above, the internet is also a fount of knowledge: it showed me how to add footnotes to my posts! Hooray internet!

Leave a Reply

