My trip to Chicago (with a bunch of pics)

I posted a few pics from my trip on Facebook & Instagram, but here are (quite) a few more.

Getting from Midway to the train involves a not short walk:

I interviewed a musician at Cafe Mustache (the second interview I’ve conducted there), so afterwards, I wandered around Logan Square. At the suggestion of my interviewee, I ate at a great place called Lula Cafe. It was delicious and super hip. It’s right on the square, but as I was heading that way, I passed the new Chicago Diner location!!! I knew I was going to have lunch at the original Chicago Diner later that week, so I managed to keep walking. I also passed the Rocking Horse en route; I know nothing about the place, but their sign is pretty special!

I got to go to Ravinia to see a Prairie Home Companion, and of course, spent some time at the Hideout. My friends introduced me to another Chicago venue that features live country music, the California Clipper, and I ate at my favorite restaurant in Chicago: Handlebar. And thanks to the previously mentioned interviewee, I got to see the Sanctified Grumblers and the Carolina Chocolate Drops at City Winery (for free!).

And finally, I spent a couple of days at the Chicago History Museum. It’s located at the south end of Lincoln Park, and is quite close to the lake. I got to see the Blackhawks win the Stanley Cup after seeing a show at the Hideout. That night, I also met someone from my tiny undergrad institution who I had NOT known previously. Not only did we both go to Transy, we were there at the same time, and even played in the band together! I still can’t believe it. Pretty cool.

Another trip to Chicago is in the books, and it’s looking like I won’t be going back any time in the very near future (I’ll go back eventually, of course). This is bittersweet because I obviously love visiting the city, but it also means that I’m that much closer to finishing this degree. And well, we all know that I need to be transcribing and writing, not traveling! Thanks for the fun and good times, Chicago!

Leave a Reply

