I have the power…

This latest trip to Chicago was productive, enjoyable, eventful, and tiring (I think exhausting probably sounds better, but that might be a bit of hyperbole). I stayed at four different locations over seven nights, and really made the most of my time in the city. The kindness of Chicago acquaintances and friends (both new and not-so-newish) remains overwhelming to me (not hyperbole), and I really do have a pretty fun dissertation topic. Nevertheless, on this trip in particular, I found myself regularly preoccupied with… battery life.

When I visit Chicago, I rely primarily on public transportation, and thanks to my trusty research tool extraordinare, aka the iPhone, plus the google maps app, I can get around pretty well. However, using the map frequently and consistently doesn’t bode well for my (relatively not new) phone’s battery life. I regularly found myself scouring a venue for a power outlet for fear that my phone would die before I managed to memorize the train stops, bus numbers, and directions to get me back “home.” Of course, as I wrote about here, not even having a charged phone and the app can keep me going in the right direction.

Just one of many places I charged my phone

Just one of many places I charged my phone

In (another) one of my less-than-smart moments, I ended up in Chicago for an entire week without my laptop charger. Considering the primary reasons for this trip were to document items at the Chicago History Museum, and to organize and clarify data/photos/documents from Bloodshot Records, the laptop was kind of necessary. After discovering the cost of a new charger was out of my budget ($80!!!), I opted to “borrow” one from Best Buy. The only catch was that I had to be in the store for about 35 minutes, just hanging out next to the macbook display. No one seemed to mind, and only one employee asked me if I needed help… as I was walking out the door! Also, thankfully, I stayed with someone for a couple of nights who also had a mac, so I got another charge there. These two charges gave me enough battery to do what I needed to do and get my work done.

IMG_5238

Doesn’t everyone take their Jamba Juice smoothie to Best Buy’s Apple display?

I didn’t realize until I walked into my house latelatelate on Wednesday night (or earlyearlyearly Thursday morning) how much brain space had been devoted to thinking about charging my electronic devices. Having many chargers and even more opportunities to charge my devices, along with knowing how to get where I’m going most of the time are all luxuries that I am not taking for granted this weekend!

Leave a Reply

