Halfway there: May edition

I haven’t been posting much on the blog lately, mainly because I’m supposed to be Writing a Chapter. You may recall that the deadline for this activity is the end of the month. Well, in case you haven’t noticed, we’re officially over halfway through the month, which of course might imply that I ought to be halfway through the draft. Or something. (I am not.)

I have, however, been writing on an almost daily basis.  For nearly a month now, I’ve been using a writing website called 750 Words. The idea is that you acquire points and badges for writing 750 words on the site every day (approximately three pages). It’s completely private and saves your words. Of course, you can fill it with nonsense words, if you like, so long as it is 750 of them. I’ve used it for free writing, journaling, drafting, and transcribing. I’m not sure how long I will find it useful and/or novel, but for now it has been moderately effective for me.

In any event, I’m hoping to have a terrible, very bad rough draft of this chapter by Wednesday. This self-imposed deadline is because I’m heading out of town! Next week, I’ll drive to Nashville for the country music conference; then it’s off to Kentucky to retrieve the Very Tall Nephew. We’ll head south again, and then it’s off to youth camp (at the beach!). The last day of camp is May 31.

So, yeah, I need to get back to that Word doc since it seems to be having a hard time filling itself up with words 🙂

Leave a Reply

