Restless

One of the definitions of “restless” from the dictionary app on my Mac is as follows: offering no physical or emotional rest; involving constant activity or motion. But the other definition provided is a bit closer to how I’m feeling, as in “unable to rest or relax as a result of anxiety or boredom.”

I traveled out of state or out of country at least once every month last year, and in some months, I took two trips. Which is why, I think, that I feel a little restless right now (in the latter sense). I don’t have any trips scheduled in the near future. None. Zero. Zip. Yes, I went to Austin (not once, but twice, last month), but I’m looking at a stretch of at least sixty+ days that I’ll be in town, at home. This is strange to me.

While the travel schedule (or remarkable lack thereof) certainly has something to do with my “anxiety or boredom,” I would surmise that the restless feeling has to do with writing (or not writing) a dissertation. Traveling is a really good excuse for Not Writing — especially if the travel is for Research and/or attending a conference to Present Research. Or basically, it’s an advanced procrastinating maneuver.

And now it seems that I don’t have any built-in excuses for Not Writing, so instead of searching for flights, I suppose I should go and write something.

Leave a Reply

