Neither seen nor heard…

I’ve always wondered why anyone would want to watch tv shows or movies on a phone, what with the small screens and the holding. Then Amazon Instant Video showed up on my iPhone, and well, now I know why someone would want to watch, say, an episode of Sherlock on one’s phone while in bed, or watch Arrested Development while on the elliptical at the gym… The answer is, of course, it’s convenient. Ridiculously convenient.

So anyway, I just watched the Arrested Development episode “Public Relations” from Season 1 (I’m watching the series for the first time right now) where Michael is trying to get his son into a prestigious private school whose motto regarding children is “neither seen nor heard.”

And this motto reminds me of two different moments from our services yesterday. It was one of those days that went fine, great, even, but I was a little irritated with myself over a few things that slipped through the cracks. Tall Sound Guy was around, one of our new Apprentices was available to help, and all of our team was there, and still, I was not ready to go when our starting countdown was under two minutes. Sigh.

At some point in the morning, I saw a music stand at the front of our room that needed to be in the other room. I was mid-task for something else, so I thought I’d ask someone else to move it. But I forgot.

In the middle of the first song, I remembered that it was still there, and right around the same time, I got a text asking for the stand. I walked to the front of our room (thankfully, everyone was standing, and I’m not all that tall), grabbed the stand, and headed to the other room. When I got to the other room, I made an executive decision to be neither seen nor heard in that room, and asked someone else to walk the stand to the front of that room.

The Other Thing that happened was that we had baptisms in both services. It all went off without a hitch in the first service, but in the second service, we had the syncing song, to be followed by the baptisms (via video from the other room). However, things didn’t line up correctly. The song in both rooms was finishing up, and Children’s Pastor came into the baptistry and began speaking… except that we weren’t quite ready and couldn’t hear or see him in our room. We got both audio and video going at just the right time, so no one in our room really missed anything (except for the brilliant and witty remarks of Children’s Pastor leading up to the actual dunking). Despite a few moments of freaking out on my part, as Helper Elf noted, we were the only ones who thought it was really awkward. Well, maybe us, and the folks who were sitting near the booth.

Leave a Reply

