On the road again?

I read a book tonight. And I fully admit it’s something I didn’t do very much of in 2012, despite a resolve to do so. But here on the first day of 2013, I’ve at least got one book under the belt. Don’t be too impressed, though. I read The Shack (Young, 2007). It was thought-provoking, fascinating, cheesy, stirring, and at times, a little goofy and sappy for my tastes, but overall, I found it entertaining and a good read. I can see why it has been a little controversial, but at worst, it’s completely a work of fiction comparable to a made-for-tv movie, and at best, it’s an allegory that opens up interesting discussion. And that’s all the book review you’ll get here.

If I wasn’t reading very much this past year, you know what I did do? Travel. A lot.

Chicago Midway International Airport in December. I was in this airport eight times this year.

Chicago Midway International Airport in December – I was in this airport eight times this year.

I went to:

  • Chicago for a conference and research
  • Dominican Republic for a conference
  • Charlotte, NC for a conference
  • Spartanburg, SC for a conference
  • Nashville, TN for a conference
  • Myrtle Beach, SC with the church for youth camp
  • Chicago for the American Music Festival and research
  • Chattanooga, TN to hang out with friends
  • Gadsden, AL to see family
  • Chicago for Bloodshot’s anniversary party and to watch VHS tapes
  • Lexington, KY and Nashville to visit family/friends and for research
  • New Orleans, LA for a conference
  • Puerto Rico for vacation
  • Chicago for research
  • Lexington, KY for Christmas
Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport - I was in this airport fourteen times this year.

Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport – I was in this airport fourteen times this year.

While all the travel was fun and productive and good, I’m looking forward to some time at home, not to mention all the transcribing that remains to be done. And then there’s the actual writing of a dissertation. There will be travel – I’ve already confirmed trips to conferences in Charleston, SC (January), and Austin, TX (February). But really, I do hope to make the time to read for fun some this year, too.

Leave a Reply

