My Old Kentucky Home…

I meant to post this on Monday as a post-Sunday post, but Monday was Christmas Eve and I was doing Christmas Eve-y things, like hanging out with friends (“old” friends – ones that I’ve known for as long as I can remember), watching Christmas movies, and going to church. And then, of course, Tuesday was Christmas, which was full of Christmas-y things like family and presents and food and naps. So here it is Wednesday (technically early Thursday) and I remembered that I never posted this. So here it is, a bit late!

Sunday was the fifth Sunday this year that I wasn’t at my church (last year, I missed six!). I always hate being away, but was glad to receive communications that all went well. On the flip side, I’m thrilled to be at home with my family in Kentucky. I attended church with my family, and ended up playing the piano for their services. This is a small church (a very small church compared to the one I regularly attend and blog about), so I walked in a few minutes before the service, met with the song leader, and we picked the songs for the morning service.

You may recall that my Least Favorite Christmas Song is “O Little Town of Bethlehem,” and is generally banned not part of our Christmas song rotation at church. Thus, I’ve made it three weeks into December without having to deal with the LFCS. This morning, as we discussed the options for the service (mostly Christmas songs), I was thinking about what to say if The Song came up. Thankfully, it didn’t.

A hymnal! A piano! Oh my!

A hymnal! A piano! Oh my!

However, I played the evening service, too, and the LFCS was suggested. For a brief moment, I considered going along with it. And then I came to my senses. I made some innocuous comment about not feeling comfortable playing the song (technically, that’s true) and suggested another. The song leader acquiesced, and all was well!

I’ve made a new tradition of attending a late night Christmas Eve service at a fancy church in town, and this year was no different. Thankfully, they used “Forest Green” again, so I can officially declare this year “O Little Town of Bethlehem” free.

Merry Christmas (and now Happy Boxing Day), y’all!

Leave a Reply

