A Ukulele Update

I’ve had the ukulele for nearly two months now, and I’m still really excited about it. Although it’s been a busy couple of months with lots of travel (Lexington, Nashville, New Orleans, and Puerto Rico), I’m glad that I was able to take the ukulele with me on all of these trips except for New Orleans! With its new proper case, hopefully, it can join me safely on future travels too.

I’ve expanded my repertoire ever so slightly, and now in addition to classic country songs, I’ve learned the chords for “Rainbow Connection” in G (I learned all of the chords for the key change to G#/Ab, but I think it’s a lot more trouble than it’s worth), plus, a song or two by the Old 97’s. But my first song for playing the melody AND chords… is “Jingle Bell Rock” in C. With Christmas coming along, I’ve got a few more songs I’m hoping to learn, including my fave, “The Twelve Days of Christmas!

On the downside, playing the ukulele makes my left thumb sore (particularly bar chords, cf. earlier mention of playing in Ab). I have small hands, and this isn’t an issue when I play the guitar, but I’ve read various blog posts and discussions about it, and it seems like it’s not all that uncommon. Now that I’ve noticed it, I’m adjusting my left-hand technique, but I’m thinking I still might invest in some sort of strap to help with this. Any advice or recommendations?

Leave a Reply

