Happy Friday Music Fun: UKULELE!

I purchased a ukulele last Saturday, and promptly posted a photo of it on Instagram.

It’s possible that I spent many, many hours on Saturday doing nothing but playing the ukulele. And it’s equally possible that at every spare (and not so spare) moment this week, I have been playing the ukulele. It’s also a possibility that I’ve considered taking the ukulele with me everywhere I’ve been this week.

While this is most certainly an intermediate-level procrastinating technique, it’s also SO MUCH FUN I CAN’T STAND IT! I think it has something to do with the fact that in my current life, I am never a music maker. I am a music consumer, and my academic job is mostly thinking about music. I’m obviously involved in the music-making process at church. But I don’t play music anymore. Yes, I teach piano lessons, but I can’t exactly call my interaction with the piano while teaching “Playing the Piano.” Nor do I have the time and wherewithal to Play the Piano like I would like to right now.

So welcome, ukulele! Nothing says old country songs like the ukulele… ok, maybe not, but that’s what I’m using it for. So far my repertoire includes “King of the Road,” “Stand by Your Man,” “There He Goes,” “There Stands the Glass,” and “You’re Still on My Mind.” Let me know if you have any suggestions 🙂

Happy Friday, y’all!

5 thoughts on “Happy Friday Music Fun: UKULELE!

  1. Good luck with the uke – it’s great fun! I’ve been teaching myself for around a year. Check out our club site (on my signature block) for plenty of free online tips, links & resources.
    Happy strumming! Jeanette

Leave a Reply

