Guitar Slide Wednesday: The Hag version, part 2

The Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum has a new exhibit called “The Bakersfield Sound: Buck Owens, Merle Haggard, and California Country.” Since I’m in Nashville this week, I spent the afternoon at the Museum to check it out (they have a fantastic Chet Atkins exhibit there now, too). I loved the exhibit, and not just because of all of the old pictures of Merle Haggard…

I have mentioned elsewhere that I just love ca. 1960s/early 1970s Merle Haggard, and here are a few pics I took today:

And even though, I’m late getting to it, it’s still Guitar Slide Wednesday, so here’s a fantastic video of Merle Haggard and the Strangers live on a show called Country Music Holiday from 1968. Even though there aren’t any guitar slides of note, the song features a pedal steel and some nice lead guitar licks.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

