Happy Friday Music Fun: Play it again!

For as long as I can remember, I have listened to songs over and over and over and over again. From taping (yes, taping) a song off the radio, and then taping it on to another tape, and then taping it back to the first tape again and again; to that first glorious moment when I discovered the repeat button on my CD player, I have listened to a lot of different songs many, many times in a row. Songs have attained Repeat Status for various reasons, and some have been on repeat for no good reason at all.

When I started using iTunes, I made a point of buying and/or adding select Repeated Songs and making various playlists of these songs. And since iTunes keeps track of how many times a song has been played, well, I can see my obsessive compulsive behavior in numeric form. While sharing the entire list or even the numbers for some of these songs on the blog seems unseemly, I’ll at least share a few of the songs that I’ve heard MANY times in my life here on the blog every now and again.

The song for this post is “Haphazardly” by the ever-dreamy Mr. Rhett Miller. I could talk about the lyrics of this song and its narrative arc, or the instrumentation and the lovely lead guitar work, or the effective build. Or how much I love Rhett Miller. Or how I subjected a former roommate to listening to this song way more times than she may have wanted. But I believe the song speaks for itself. So go ahead. Listen to it a few times in a row; I promise, you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

