Finally, a post about procrastinating!

As you can read under the title of my blog, I am a self-proclaimed procrastinator. And while the tagline of my blog addresses this, there really aren’t all that many posts here about procrastinating. This post attempts to address that shortage, while the title of the post notes that I procrastinate writing posts about procrastinating (see what I did there?).

I have attended a lot of conferences this academic year. No, really. A TON. OK, fine, I’ve attended five so far, six counting the day-long student symposium we did at school. I suppose it’s one of the perks of being a Professional Anything that one’s particular group of Anythings can get together in a hotel and meet and hang out and talk about the issues important to and related to Anything, regardless of how foreign it sounds to the rest of us.* And to use a Grand Master of Discourse-ism, academics are not afraid to have conferences.

After having a lovely time in Charlotte, a grand time in Santo Domingo, fun (as always) in Chicago, productive time (and reunion time) in Philadelphia, and a great road trip to Tallahassee, I’m trying really hard to get excited about Spartanburg. Don’t get me wrong, I’m really excited that I get to present at this conference, and even more excited that the grad school is footing the bill… it’s the motivation to write the paper and put the presentation together that’s REALLY lacking.

For some reason, back in the spring and summer when I was throwing abstracts at anything that moved, I decided to write a bunch of different abstracts for different conferences. I did this for a variety of reasons, some quite necessary, such as writing to the call for papers and/or trying to fit some of my research into a particular session or conference theme. But I also did it… because I’m a procrastinator. And I knew if I got accepted, then I’d have a deadline, and I’d have to write something new and different.

So here I am, dealing with the fall out of last year’s decision making now. And since I don’t present until Friday, I guess I’ll work on that tomorrow. Or the next day.

*Seriously, while we were in Charlotte at SAM, the “World of Concrete” was happening at the convention center across the street.

Leave a Reply

