Happy Friday Music Fun: Best Album Ever… I think (or something like that)

Thanks to NPR Music and their Tiny Desk Concerts, I found out that The Cranberries have a new album coming out on February 27! This band was easily my favorite band when I was a teenager. I had an enormous To the Faithful Departed poster in my dorm room my sophomore year (and yes, that album came out in 1996, and I was still just barely a teenager). And even after I saw the light and converted to alt.country, I still bought albums and paid money to see The Cranberries live a few times.

Everybody Else Is Doing It, So Why Can’t We? (1993) will always be one of my Most Favorite Albums Ever. What I’ve always loved about The Cranberries is their harmony and, of course, Dolores O’Riordan’s sweet voice and the often crazy vocal quality she employs. I’m pretty sure on the albums she often sang harmony with herself, which would only reinforce why I liked the band to begin with! When I listen to the band now, and specifically this album, it’s so steeped in memory, nostalgia, and youth, it’s quite difficult to assess the quality of the music, or the success of the album as a musical whole.

“Dreams” has to be one of the most used songs on a movie/tv show soundtrack, and “Pretty” was one of the first songs I ever put on repeat on my CD player. This album will always make me sing along (harmony!) and bring to mind some fantastic memories and even more fantastic friends. So, check out the Tiny Desk Concert (they open with “Linger”) and then give a listen to “Dreams.” You know you want to sing along!

Happy Friday, y’all!

The Cranberries Tiny Desk Concert

Leave a Reply

