Guitar Slide Wednesday: Old 97’s version, take 2

The Old 97’s are one of my favorite bands (if not my favorite), and have been featured here before. I saw them at the 40 Watt this past weekend, so I decided to bring them back to the blog for Guitar Slide Wednesday. If you haven’t seen this band live, they pretty much rock, and it’s a great live show.

The following song isn’t my favorite, but when I saw Ken do this slide live, I knew this was the song for today! The audio on the video below leaves much to be desired (I assume this was filmed on a phone), but you can see the slide at 0:12. You also can see a nice, little, rock and roll kick from the long-haired (ever dreamy) Mr. Miller at 1:35. This is obviously early in the set/evening, as he is not dripping with sweat.

One other thing about this song that I really like–the usage of nonsense syllables. I’m a fan of nonsense syllables in songs, so long as they’re either catchy, clever, fun, and/or funny, and I think the ones in this song fit the bill. If you’d like to hear the song, here’s a spotify link: Old 97’s – Smokers* On this track you can hear what a great electric guitar song this is!

Enjoy, y’all!

*Spotify says that this track is from Drag It Up (2004), but it’s actually a live version from Alive and Wired (2005). Also, I have no idea what happens when I link to spotify. If you feel like it, click on it and let me know for future reference? K. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

