Resolve Schmesolve

Last year and this year have been the least exciting New Year’s Eves for me that I can remember. My memory has gotten pretty bad in the old age, so perhaps this is selective. Nevertheless, last year I was recovering from the flu and spent the evening on my parent’s couch, and this year I mostly spent the day driving (at least earlier in the day I watched Kentucky beat Lousiville AGAIN in basketball, Go CATS!).

I have always loved New Year’s Eve because it’s such a festive time, plus it’s a great excuse for a party and time to hang out with friends. Perhaps when January 1 isn’t on a weekend again, I shall resume the practice of fun NYE events.

In the mean time, this is traditionally the time when folks like to make resolutions. According to the New Oxford American Dictionary 2nd edition that’s on my MacBook, a resolution is “a firm decision to do or not to do something.” I’ve made very few “New Year’s Resolutions” in my life, and I really think the idea of “New Year’s Resolutions” is kinda dumb, as one can resolve to do just about anything at any given time. Nevertheless, I have a few things on my radar right now, each of varying import and in no particular order:

  • Read more. Yes, I know that everyone (always) has this on their list. But two summers ago, I was preparing for comps, which means I was reading like it was my job… actually, I guess it kind of was my job. Since then, I’ve slacked off horribly on ALL reading. I enjoy reading and I also NEED to read as I write the dissertation. It’s likely possible I’m only listing this because I have recently decided I must would like to have a Kindle Touch.
  • Be healthy. Again, not an exceptional goal, but I’m getting old. In fact, I’m feeling a bit of anxiety about my upcoming sort-of-milestone-ish birthday. I’m not big on exercising and I’m horribly lazy when it comes to feeding myself (and usually end up eating poorly), but I recognize the fact that I should probably do better on both of those counts.
  • Keep up with the one-year Bible reading plan. This will be the fourth year I’ve done this, er, well, I suppose the 3.75th time, since I basically dropped the plan in November and December of this past year (travel and holidays did me in). I thought about finishing out the reading in one fell swoop, but that sort of defeats the purpose of a daily plan, eh?
  • Dress up more. In what could be tagged a #firstworldpain, I have a lot of fancy dresses in my closet that haven’t been worn very much. If I show up to staff meeting or your basketball game in a formal, just know I’m trying to work my way through these dresses.*
  • Manage my time better. This past semester was really wild for me in a variety of ways. It was the first time in recent memory that I wasn’t ridiculously crazy busy, and in retrospect, I don’t think I did very well with that. I know that I got things done and actually Wrote the Prospectus, but I don’t think I’d like to repeat that semester again.
  • Find a way to serve in the community. While I serve and give time at my church, I’m not involved in anything out in the community. I’ve got a couple of things in mind, but I’d like to get going with this sooner rather than later. I think this could also help with the previous item.
  • Have people over for meals/socializing. This is something I love to do, but the whole PhD thing has really gotten in the way of that. So… who wants to come over? 🙂

Nothing surprising, but that’s what I’m thinking about for 2012. And in the interest of accountability and all that, I’ll update how I’m doing on one or more of these things the first week of every month.**

Perhaps we can all learn from the little duckies…

Happy New Year, y’all!

*Invitations to formal events are welcome. Or should I volunteer to chaperone prom or something?!?

**Or until it’s too embarrassing to bring up again.

Leave a Reply

