Smooth Operators*

Every now and again, there are moments in life that are so very perfect that you just couldn’t plan them if you wanted to–serendipitous, if you will. One of those things happened yesterday at church. But before I get to that, I will confess that as I was getting ready for church yesterday, I thought to myself, “It’s only one room today–should be an easy day!” It was not a not-easy day, but it wasn’t as easy as I thought it would be, and I was slightly unprepared for a couple of things during the service. I’ll also take credit for Female Worship Leader getting attacked by one of the stage lights while walking on stage.

Nevertheless, once we got going, Worship Leader kindly took a moment to recognize the tech folks who serve every week. In the second service, just as he was saying something to the effect of “our tech team helps things run smoothly and seamlessly around here on Sunday mornings,” Utility Instrumentalist (he plays percussion, bass, acoustic guitar, among other talents) dropped the bass in a not-very-discreet way. It was really priceless. Although I was recording the service, I missed that part. Thankfully, this moment lives on in Sunday Morning Lore… and here on the blog 🙂

Merry Christmas, y’all!

*This post title is a reference to a song by the ’80s band Sade. The song, however, has nothing to do with the post. But, in case you need your cheesy “smooth jazz/pop saxophone” fix, see below. You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

