Guitar Slide Wednesday: Current Country Star Version

I resisted the urge to put quotes around “country” in the title of this post, although I have no inclination to critique this artist in a way that I may have wanted to critique Famous Current Country Star in a previous post. While I could analyze my own views on this in terms of gender, notions (tropes, if you will) of expertise and authenticity in popular music, I’d really just rather get to the guitar slides. So, in any event, with the CMA Awards happening tonight, I figured it would be right and proper to feature a bona fide CMA star in the post today.

My familiarity with Keith Urban comes from Former Tennis Instructor & Roommate/Guitar Player/Soon-to-be Therapist and Lead Guitar. I may have mentioned that I don’t really listen to current country music, so what I know about him comes from these two who both rave about Urban’s abilities.

What’s fun about this video is that you get to see Keith Urban play several of the slides in the song. The song opens with a slide, the solo starts around 2:24, and there’s a nice slow slide right around 3:00 going into the outro. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

