One year

One year ago today, I was incredibly relieved and ridiculously sleep-deprived, riding in a car with Violin Doctor and heading to Jacksonville, Florida, for a football game. At approximately 4:30 a.m. that morning I emailed the last of my comps questions to one of my committee members, concluding the two-week ordeal of written comps for my degree (the oral portion of my comps happened a few weeks later). I’m guessing that henceforth, the annual Georgia-Florida game will always remind me of comps and the trip to Jacksonville.

Some associated memories from that weekend that came to mind this morning (in no particular order):

  • Violin Doctor picked me up that morning and after we had been on the road for fifteen or twenty minutes, I realized that I had forgotten my ticket for the game. We promptly turned and went back to my house to get my ticket.
  • We ate an AMAZING meal at Cantina Laredo and had a lovely stay at Hotel Indigo.
  • We met up with one of our professors before the game (my committee member to whom I emailed the comps essay) and he had already read the essay.
  • At one point, I called Professor’s wife’s phone, and they were on the beach flying kites. Of course.
  • The game was, as has been the case recently for Georgia fans, disappointing, and replete with intoxicated folk.
  • The drive back from Jacksonville was not an exciting one… especially after the whole ‘losing the game’ thing.
  • It was a fabulous way to finish up comps.

I can’t believe it has already been a year. I also can’t believe I still haven’t submitted the prospectus to the committee. I confess that I didn’t really get very much accomplished the rest of that semester last year. In the Spring semester, I started putting together fabricated bits and pieces of a (faux) prospectus, but about halfway through the semester, Advisor and I realized that I could go to Chicago over the summer and get some data on which to base the (real?) prospectus.

And that’s where we are. I’m sending Advisor the first complete-ish draft early next week… so I’ll be at the library all afternoon to (hopefully) shore some of the important missing pieces. And while in one way, it seems like (academically) not a whole lot has happened in this past year, I know I’m making progress (I think?)… just progress at the speed of the tortoise, not the hare. Aesop, let’s hope you’re right on this one.

2 thoughts on “One year

Leave a Reply

