Another shot of bourbon… or a list of drinking songs

This isn’t a very Sunday-friendly post, particularly here in the South… but based on my love of the song featured on the most recent Guitar Slide Wednesday post, I’m putting together a playlist of high-quality drinking songs.* This is neither new nor novel, as a rather large portion of the musical genre called country (and the one called alt.country for that matter) has relied quite heavily on such a trope.

Here’s what I have so far with very little thought and one sweep through my iTunes catalog…

Obvious (and old):
The Bottle Let Me Down, Merle Haggard
If Drinkin’ Don’t Kill Me (Her Memory Will), George Jones
Don’t Come Home a Drinkin’ (With Lovin’ on Your Mind), Loretta Lynn
There’s a Tear in My Beer, Hank Williams
There Stands the Glass, Webb Pierce (John Doe sang a version of this song when he was on Fresh Air recently-ish. And it was amazing. You’re welcome.)
Whiskey River, Willie Nelson
You Never Even Call Me By My Name, David Allan Coe

Slightly Less Obvious/More Oblique (and mostly new-ish and kind of alt.country-ish):
Whiskey and You, The Star Room Boys
Portland, Oregon, Loretta Lynn and Jack White
I Am Trying to Break Your Heart, Wilco
Wish the Worst, Old 97’s
Picture in My Mind, Freakwater
Return of the Grievous Angel, Gram Parsons
Caleb Meyer, Gillian Welch

Any suggestions to add?**

*This is the closest one can get to a footnote here at WordPress. I refer to songs about drinkin’ rather than songs one could drink to. Further, I also refer the quality of the song in question, not the quality of the drink (which may or may not affect the quality of the song). I reserve the right to judge said quality (or lack thereof) of song or drink.

**And just so we keep things above board here, this little album featuring Bloodshot artists is a lot of fun: The Bottle Let Me Down: Songs for Bumpy Wagon Rides.

Also, so you don’t have to look it up:

11 thoughts on “Another shot of bourbon… or a list of drinking songs

    • Thanks, GMD. Good grief, that Whiskey Lullaby is depressing. Amazing, but depressing. Also, I’m not quite sure how I feel about the Glamorous Pageant version of Alison Krauss in the video. Kinda odd.

      I’m completely unfamiliar with Mr. Bartender (er, the song), but it’s getting added to the list.

      And I can’t find the Clint Black song… after one strenuous search in Google. Will look elsewhere later!

  1. Three obvious ones to me:

    Margaritaville – Mr Buffett

    He Stopped Loving Her Today – George Jones (I mean seriously if you can listen to this song and not want to drink a fifth of whiskey you have no heart)

    Kilin’ Time – Clint Black

Leave a Reply

