Painfully rough…

I have been tasked to produce a Very Rough Draft of the not-yet-written parts of the prospectus (these parts are the ones that would actually describe my project). I knew this was coming and had sort of set my own personal goal of doing this “soon” (with procrastination built in), but when Advisor gave a fairly firm deadline, in our last phone meeting, well, I was glad we were on the phone and not face-to-face.

As I mentioned previously, I have written chunks of text about my project, and I’ve joked numerous times that I completely made that stuff up… but I guess that’s the point. I’m supposed to make this stuff up – this is my project. Now I just need to make more stuff up and hope it fills a solid 8-10 pages and resembles something that makes sense for this Very Rough Draft.

As a proponent of writing-to-learn, I’m certain that putting these thoughts and ideas into words will help me figure out what my thoughts and ideas actually are, but more likely will also reveal the parts that I still need to work out. However, right now I’m focusing on a lit review for another project and the conference paper for this weekend, which means I’m contemplating the prospectus in the background (aka procrastinating) and will resume panicking later this week.

Leave a Reply

